Tags

, , ,

Robin van Roosmalen

Robin van Roosmalen (29-5) is looking to KO his opponent Shemsi Beqiri (72-8) at Glory 10 in Los Angeles, September 28 according to an article posted today on gloryworldseries.com.

Van Roosmalen believes a knockout result will gain him enough ranking points to put him in front of Giorgio Petrosyan (76-1-2-1), the current no. 1 ranked Glory lightweight. However, being ahead of Petrosyan in rankings won’t be enough for Van Roosmalen, who is still looking for a rematch with Petrosyan:

I’m just a few points away from being the leader in the rankings. If the ranking system makes me number one with a KO win then yes, good for me. At the same time, I’d still like to rematch Petrosyan soon. If I beat him then I am clearly the world number one

Van Roosmalen felt that his last encounter with Petrosyan, in the Glory Lightweight Tournament at Glory 3 in Rome, ended prematurely.  Van Roosmalen felt he had done enough for the fight to go into an extension round:

But by the third round I was really giving him problems. I think that I should have gotten an extra round from the judges. The first round was his, the second I came back strong and the third round was definitely me.

“I think I deserved an extra round but, like they say, never leave it in the judge’s hands eh? When I get the rematch… well, you never know what would happen in any fight, but I think I learned a lot in the last one. I think I know enough now to beat him.

The winner of van Roosmalen vs Beqiri will book themselves a place in the upcoming Glory lightweight tournament (70kg) set to take place at Glory 12 in New York on the 9th November.

Check out the article here.

…and you can check out the 2012 Glory 70 kg final from Glory 3, between Petrosyan and van Roosmalen, here.  Boom!

