Tags

,

FuryBritish heavyweight boxer Tyson Fury announced that he will be competing in a kickboxing match in Bucharest, Romania on the 25th October. 

This will be just under a month after his upcoming clash with former WBA heavyweight champion David Haye, a fight that is widely expected to be the toughest of Fury’s boxing career so far.

Here is what Fury had to say about his upcoming kickboxing match:

I’m really excited about this. Almost as excited as I am by the prospect of beating Haye.

‘Where we are in Belgium is kick-boxing country and my sponsor loves that as well as boxing. He asked if I would do this and I’m delighted. I’ve been boxing since I could walk but now I’ve got a new challenge. I enjoy new challenges. They keep me excited.

So far neither the opponent nor the promotion have been named, but it does not appear to be a SuperKombat event.

The idea of Tyson Fury fighting in a kickboxing match is not so far fetched, if only because Fury trains with heavyweight kickboxers Daniel Ghita and Rico Verhoeven.

9pth5w

We will update you about Fury’s kickboxing match as more details emerge.

