Tags

, ,

Ky Hollenbeck

Ky Hollenbeck (44-3) returns to competition against Albert Kraus at Glory 10 Los Angeles after being sidelined for nearly a year due to injury.

Hollenbeck injured his knee, tearing the ACL, while fighting Giorgio Petrosyan at Glory 3 last year.  Since then, Hollenbeck was worked on rehabilitating his injured knee while keeping himself in match fit condition.

My instructor always says ‘Don’t train for a fight, train to fight anytime’. That’s the motto I train by. Even when I don’t have a fight coming up I’m still in the gym for several hours a day improving my skill,” he says.

“So when the short notice fight was offered I was already ready to go. It’s not the same as a full camp but I feel like I’ve been training for this fight – which I consider my comeback fight – for months now.

The knee injury will not be a problem according to Hollenbeck:

The knee feels great. Rehab has gone really well and my legs feel stronger than ever. The injury forced me to put a lot of work into my legs and now they are in better shape than they were before that injury happened. I’m excited to put them back to work,

Hollenbeck is excited to face former K-1 MAX champion Albert Kraus.  Indeed Kraus’ experience makes the fight appealing to Hollenbeck:

…he (Kraus) is a really tough guy. He has been in the sport for a long time and has been excelling since he started. He was the K-1 MAX champ for good reason – he can fight. That’s why I jumped at the opportunity to fight him,” Hollenbeck says.

“I think style-wise it will be a good fight. I’m just excited to get back in the ring.

Glory 10 Los Angeles takes place this weekend on the 28th September.

 

