Tags

, , , , ,

moxon

Steve Moxon’s first fight for Glory ended in a decision loss to British Muay Thai fighter Jordan Watson at Glory 5.  Moxon was unable to get much going in the three rounds before it was all over.  Here is what he has to say in an interview on the Glory website:

I hate fighters who make excuses but honestly, that fight, I didn’t even get a warm-up. Something got moved around in the running order. I was sat in the dressing room when they ran in and were like “Moxon! You’re on now!”

I had to run downstairs and get in there. No warm-up, no pads, nothing. I didn’t even know I was in the ring, you know what I mean? By the time I got going it was too late. The fight just went in a blur and then it was over. But he didn’t hurt me, he had nothing.

Since then Moxon has gotten things back on track and is ready for his fight tomorrow at Glory 11:

I’m on a four-fight win streak now with wins over Dzhabar Askerov and Yuri Bessmertny, who have also fought for GLORY.  I’ve also been taking the game a lot more seriously – my diet, my preparation, the weight cut in particular. I’ve taken on sports nutrition and diet advice, right now I’m only two kilos off the weight and I’m feeling great, ready to go.

I want to show Reece and everybody else that I belong on the world stage. I actually met him when he was 17. We were both training in Thailand at the time so I trained with him for three months. He’s tough and he’s good. It’s going to be a good fight. But knowing him personally doesn’t make things any more difficult.

It’s a sport and he knows that. I want that knockout the same as any other fight.

 

