There is a bit of disquiet about the “flash knockdown” rule that has been used at Glory events.
What is a “flash knockdown”? Here is the definition from ringsidebygus.com:
A flash knockdown occurs when a boxer is knocked down but gets back on his feet before the referee begins the count. It’s also known as a no-count.
Under Glory World Series Regulations, the rule set used at Glory events, there is no allowance for flash knockdown. A fighter in such a situation is counted as “down” and the judges score it as a knockdown:
A fighter is deemed to be down when according to the referee’s evaluation, if as the result of a damaging attack any part of a fighter’s body other than their feet touch the floor or would have touched the floor if not for the ropes or holding the opponent. A fighter may also be considered “down” if a fighter goes down for another reason and fails to rise at the command of the referee.
Two recent examples of a “flash knockdown” are arguably Artem Levin’s knockdown in round 4 of the Glory Middleweight Championship Tournament final against Joe Schilling, and Gokhan Saki’s first round knockdown yesterday against Rico Verhoeven.
Gokhan Saki is not a fan of the knockdown rule:
I am not a bad loser but what yestherday happend to me was not fair so next time not usa anymore for me sorry my fans from us i really love
— gokhan saki (@gokhantherebel) October 13, 2013